Plutonic Rainbows


This great application is now free and open source. I recommend this if you don’t want to pay almost a hundred dollars for Panic’s Coda.


Spent the best part of the day tidying away magazines.

Apple Smart Battery Case

Released this week, this case is optimised for iOS and features wireless charging and two internal batteries. It will work with an iPhone X but the software is not set up for this particular phone and the speaker grill will also not align correctly. The price is £129. There are cases available for the XS Max, XS and XR models in either Black or White. You can see what’s available here.


Incredible iOS application I only recently discovered. Now you can write Python anywhere. The price is £9.99 - very reasonable for what’s inside. Head over to the iOS store for more details.

Thomas Harris - Cari Mora

Announced back in October 2018, this is the author’s first novel in thirteen years.

Twenty-five million dollars in cartel gold lies hidden beneath a mansion on the Miami Beach waterfront. Ruthless men have tracked it for years. Leading the pack is Hans-Peter Schneider. Driven by unspeakable appetites, he makes a living fleshing out the violent fantasies of other, richer men.

Cari Mora, caretaker of the house, has escaped from the violence in her native country. She stays in Miami on a wobbly Temporary Protected Status, subject to the iron whim of ICE. She works at many jobs to survive. Beautiful, marked by war, Cari catches the eye of Hans-Peter as he closes in on the treasure. But Cari Mora has surprising skills, and her will to survive has been tested before.

Monsters lurk in the crevices between male desire and female survival. No other writer in the last century has conjured those monsters with more terrifying brilliance than Thomas Harris. Cari Mora, his sixth novel, is the long-awaited return of an American master.

Available to pre-order on Amazon.

HMV 1985

HMV photographed during the mid-1980s. I used to shop there. That was a long, long time ago.


Shooting RAW images and looking at them after in the photo viewer with Halide, the camera seems to be taking a JPG rather than an HEIF file (even though I’ve specifically set it to shoot RAW/HEIF). I’m on an iPhone XS Max with all latest updates.


Started putting up Christmas decorations these last few days. Also put up a link to some old photos from between 2006 and 2009. I’ll leave it in the footer notes too.

SK U KNO - U KNO (Digital Edition)

This arrives on Friday with some extended stuff that only makes a great EP even better. You can pre-order the album here and the vinyl is also still available too.

Sandra Kerr & John Faulkner - The Music From Bagpuss

Due this Friday (16th November).

The 32 tracks that make up the main body of the compositions are – like all good folk music – a patchwork of traditional pieces, half-remembered tunes and pure improvisation. It’s testament to Sandra Kerr and John Faulkner’s musicianship that the recordings work so well, not only within the context of the television episodes, but as an album in its own right. Of the recording, Oliver Postgate (in his exquisite autobiography ‘Seeing Things’) says: “Between them Sandra and John could play every sort of instrument from a mountain dulcimer to an Irish fiddle. They knew and could sing every tune in the world and didn’t bother with written music, except as a last resort. They were exactly suited to Gabriel the Toad and Madeleine the Rag Doll and in those roles were happy to play whatever music and sing whatever songs would be needed.”