Plutonic Rainbows

Blod - Livets Ord

Heavily based on synths and keyboards and clocking in on no less than close 70 minutes over 4 LP-sides, this is arguably THE epic album from the cluster around the Förlag För Fri Musik empire. Gustaf Dickssons’ fascination for christianity/religious assemblies shines through once again, the title Livets Ord (“The word of life”) derived from the Swedish free church/sect with the same name that was based in Uppsala between 1983-2013 and casting a pastoral shadow over the ambient music of the album.

While dabbling with a long tradition of kosmische musik and private-pressed new age wonders, Blods now patented sound of a Björn Isfält-gone-sour still lingers throughout the entire recording. A cornerstone in contemporary Gothenburg underground music. Featuring guest appearances by Emelie Thulin and Jerker Jarold.

Yellow Swans - Going Places

Tenth anniversary reissue that still sounds remarkably good. It could have come out yesterday, to be honest.


Perversely and brilliantly, Yellow Swans disbanded right at the point when they were tipping into wider recognition, just as the rest of the world was catching up with the noise scene which shattered into myriad strains of kosmische noise, Neo-industrial and power noise and would give us everyone from James Ferraro to 0PN, Wolf Eyes and Prurient. But a decade later Yellow Swans’ ‘Going Places’ feels like a scrawled note left by a lover who has fucked off to somewhere more exciting, and leaves behind a ragged palimpsest of memories, forgotten or suppressed emotions and maybe even an encrypted map of where to find them in the future.

Britbox August Updates

Today, the video streaming service created by the BBC and ITV released a nice new selection of classic 60s and 70s entertainment - mostly focused on science fiction.

  • The Prisoner
  • Sapphire and Steel
  • U.F.O
  • Thunderbirds
  • Randall and Hopkirk Deceased
  • The Hitchhiker’s Guide To The Galaxy
  • Captain Scarlet
  • Space 1999

If you’re a fan of these shows, you’ll be thrilled at this news with the added benefit that many of them are in HD too.

Gentle Fluidity Silver

Testing out Maison Francis Kurkdjian Gentle Fluidity Silver today. It’s a quite unique (to me) scent that is fine for the summer. It may be not quite so good in really high humidity but overall, I am quite impressed.

Little Lies

Robert Pattison revealed in an interview with The Irish Times that he was forbidden from revealing his audition for the part to anyone - including his Tenet director Christopher Nolan. Except, considering Nolan is perhaps the master of secrets, Pattinson’s “lie” didn’t pass.

I had to be really secretive about Batman stuff,” the actor said. “So I had to lie to Chris about having to go for a screen test.”

I said I had a family emergency,” Pattinson explained. “And as soon as I saidit’s a family emergency’ he said: ‘You’re doing the Batman audition, aren’t you?‘”